2007: Tears of Joy, Tears of Fear | The Daily Prompt

Image

(Photo Source)

Written for The Daily Prompt:

Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

2007 was a year of firsts for me.  I started my first job after graduating from college, I became a wife and I became the owner of a brand new vehicle.  haha

I will pick a few months and choose one or two events that happened in those months to describe in more detail:

January

At the end of December 2006, I moved into my first apartment after college with my fiance.  So, in January, we finished getting settled.  Part of that was going out and buying a some furnishings, courtesy of his aunt who gave us an early wedding present in the form of a gift certificate to a nearby furniture store.  The two big pieces we bought were a dining room set and a couch, both of which we still own (unfortunately so, in regards to the couch!).

This was also the first time I had ever cried due to lack of sleep, and I cried during my first week at my new job! Luckily, no one saw me.  I was able to pull it together within a few minutes.  I was utterly exhausted because my cat (who had not lived with me for about a year) was back with us, but he wouldn’t stop crying through the night.  My parents had gotten another cat while my cat was living with them and they formed a very close bond.  I called my now-husband in tears and asked him to meet my mother halfway (about a 2-hour drive) so that my cat could go back to where he wanted to be.  He hasn’t lived with me since, but I know he’s happier.

April

This was the month of my wedding.  It was a bit stressful to plan it from half a state away, but surprisingly enough only one thing went wrong with the entire day!  I had a very unique ceremony; I did a lot of DIY projects to save money and everything turned out fantastic.  I never in my wildest dreams thought I would cry during my wedding, but as soon as I started reciting the traditional vows (“I take you…”), I lost it.  :)

After returning home from our honeymoon, we purchased a brand new car.   Talk about a wedding present!

September

We traveled the North Shore in Minnesota all the way up to Grand Marais during the course of one day.  We stopped along the way and hiked in a few different parks.   Near the end of the trip, we descended to the bottom of one of the forests.  Upon our ascent, about halfway up, I had to take a rest.  We started again, and before long, I needed to rest again.  At this point, I began to get upset; I started crying because I truly did not think that I was going to be able to make it all the way back!   (I’d like to think that I am in better shape now that I work out on a regular basis.)

So, that was 2007 for me.  If my memory wasn’t complete shit, I could bore you some more. ;)

5 thoughts on “2007: Tears of Joy, Tears of Fear | The Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: Am I Obsessed With 1962? | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: A Nickel Short of a Dollar | Stuphblog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Buffalo Nickel – Poem / Poetry / Song – “Adios to Painful Mementos” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

